rooftop ac?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Repairs & Maintenance' started by countrymom, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. countrymom

    countrymom Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    has anyone or can you install rooftop ac unit in the rooftop vent?
     
  2. xxxapache

    xxxapache Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,077
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Yes, if the vent hole is 14 x 14.
     
  3. BikeNFish

    BikeNFish Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,336
    Likes Received:
    2,247
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN
    I am guessing that you will need additional supports.
     
    NTL1991 likes this.
  4. Texas Tara

    Texas Tara New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Our 86 Coleman has a foam core roof lined with aluminum on top and a thin 1/8" board on both sides of the foam core. To support the AC, they used a single brace that spans the inside, under the whole roof system, and covered it up with a tin panel painted white. The brace is supported by large screws on the outside, screwed into the brace on the inside. Doesn't really look bad and you don't notice it. The power cable can be run under that tin cover as well.
     
  5. roybraddy

    roybraddy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    848
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Location:
    King George, Virginia
    This is what the inside brace looks like for roof a/c install... Hopefully your 14x14 inch hole is centered on the roof and not off to one side although it probably would not make any difference.

    [​IMG]
    google image

    Roy Ken
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.