Run,don't walk away....

Discussion in 'Tow Vehicles, Hitch & Towing' started by jasf, Sep 16, 2011.

1. jasf

jasf New Member

from '02-'06 Ford Explorers! I'm a Ford guy through & through. Some might say I bleed blue,but Gen III Explorers are flat out junk! I've been buying Fords since 1985 & the '04 Explorer I bought in March with 50k is by far the worst vehicle I've ever owned! Wheel bearings,transmission, & new today the rear hatch has a crack in it. My blue blood got the best of me & I didn't do the research I should have. Got rid of a perfectly good F150 for this POS!

2. tsc

tsc Member

I know nothing about Exploders. But I belong (and haven't been active for years) to Ford Truck Enthusiasts. com and F-150 online.com. There was a wealth of info there.

Are these common problems or was the last owner just hard on that truck?

3. bigdad

bigdad Well-Known Member

My 03 Ford Expidition is the same way it a POS.

4. gsocamper

gsocamper New Member

I had an 97 Explorer that the transmission went out at 60,000. I thought they had those fixed by now. Transmissions are a common problem with the Explorer. Other than that, (which was a big issue) it was a decent auto. I keep it for over 6 years. But, when it was time to change, I went with a Pathfinder. I was scared to get another Explorer. Of course, we still have the F150 for a tv.

5. LjohnSaw

LjohnSaw So many fish, so little time...

had a 2005 I bought new and loved it until the tranny went out a 30k. It started at 17k so I got my money back via lemon law.

6. Travelhoveler

Travelhoveler New Member

Hmmm, I guess it's all in how one maintains a vehicle (oil changes, other regular maintenance, etc.). I have a 2002 Explorer and it's done quite well and now has more than 185,000 miles on it, including another 5,500 we put on last month towing our camper across Utah. Original transmission, doing well. I have had to replace some headlamps, brake shoes and oil and air filters along the way.