Search tab in front of login...

Discussion in 'Hey PUP Staff, Let me tell you what I think!' started by SHFL, Dec 1, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SHFL

    SHFL Active Member

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    The search tab is in front of the login in button — so I only login in when there is a picture that I want to see. (I can't find any other way to login.)

    Does anyone else have this problem?
    How do you work around it?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. kitphantom

    kitphantom Well-Known Member Platinum Supporting Member

    Messages:
    13,218
    Likes Received:
    2,324
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    on my ipad, the search tab appears in front of my "Alerts" lines. I can get the alerts, though. I figured it was something weird with the iPad version. Haven't looked at it on the phone recently, I mostly use the laptop (windows with Firefox)

    ETA (12/2) I looked at my iPhone and the search tab is not an issue there either, just on my iPad.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  3. eoleson1

    eoleson1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    Macomb County Michigan
    Sometimes using a different browser can change the layout. How are you trying to log in? What kind of device? Which browser?
     
  4. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    20,010
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    You totally lost me on that part of your comment.

    So but I have no control on the way XenForo (the forum software developers) handles the display of the menus for different devices.

    It would be helpful (I will email them your question) to know what type of device you are using along with what OS version. Thanks
     
    kitphantom likes this.
  5. Toedtoes

    Toedtoes Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,846
    Likes Received:
    2,821
    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Location:
    California
    Oftentimes, the browser "scrunches" the website to fit the screen. Sometimes it is as simple as turning the device horizontal to expand the page.
     
  6. SHFL

    SHFL Active Member

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    Since I can’t see the login button, the only way I can get a login screen, is to click on something that requires that I be logged in to see it. Then a screen comes up and informs me that I must login.

    I am using Safari, on an iPad mini.
    I will try another device – – and see if I still have the problem.
     
  7. Toedtoes

    Toedtoes Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,846
    Likes Received:
    2,821
    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Location:
    California
    Have you turned the ipad mini horizontally?
     
  8. SHFL

    SHFL Active Member

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    I’ve tried it portrait, and landscape. In both cases, I cannot see the login button.
    However, I just discovered the “you must log in to reply” link, so I can make this work…

    Thanks!
     
    kitphantom likes this.
  9. eoleson1

    eoleson1 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    Macomb County Michigan
    Try installing the Firefox browser on your ipad. I use it on my phone with zero issues.
     
  10. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    20,010
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    There should be a little checkbox when you logon that is an option to "Stay Logged In". Click that and you shouldn't have any more issues with logging on until the next ti you clear the cache.
     
    McSkippy and kitphantom like this.
  11. Tom Jordan

    Tom Jordan Active Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    147
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Location:
    ArkLaTex
    I have the same issue on my iPad mini with Safari. It started a number of months ago, then was corrected, then started again. It’s a pain since it covers the alerts as well as the New Posts. Steve’s “Stay logged in” option has worked well enough.
     
  12. Arruba

    Arruba Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    359
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Location:
    Central Oregon
    I’m on an IPad, the Search covers up everything right of my Avatar. I can see the LIKE button light up behind the Search Bar. Does no matter what the orientation of the screen is.

    Using iPadOS 14.1 maybe .2. It’s been this way for a little while. Don’t know what it looks like on a phone or PC.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2020
  13. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    20,010
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    And don’t forget, they update these browsers all the time and there are also so many ways to personalize them too. I see the issue you are having when I use my iPhone to view the website with chrome but not with Safari. The combinations are endless.
     
    kitphantom likes this.
  14. SHFL

    SHFL Active Member

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    Thank you for the suggestions. When I get some time I will try a different browser.
    I might even stay logged in...
     
  15. Katskamper

    Katskamper Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    283
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Admin Steve:
    the coders have not coded for mobile devices!
    im on ipad mini. using safari.

    search is blocking because its html tag or CSS that needs adjusting. i will look when im in front of my computer & can view source code. ( I'm assuming its a float right tag.)

    can you edit the HTML or CSS.?

    search needs to be in its own <div> above the navigation bar or immediately after the membership nav link.

    will detail answer tomorrow.

    2A5243BC-ACA6-4615-9E6F-78A26CE0F5ED.jpeg
     
  16. SHFL

    SHFL Active Member

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    I love the breadth of knowledge that portal members have!
     
  17. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    20,010
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    I've passed it along to the software creator but don't hold your breath.
     
    kitphantom likes this.
  18. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    I have the same problem on my iPad.
     
  19. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    BTW - the problem went away briefly (for a few weeks), then came back. This was a few months ago.
     
  20. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    20,010
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Most likely browser updates caused it to not work, then work, and then not work again.

    Bottom line, nothing I can do. Sorry.

    You may want to try a different browser on your device.
     
    kitphantom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page