Serious Question - Why is everyone so into Cast Iron?

Discussion in 'Pots, Pans, Grills, Other Cookware / Cleaning & Fo' started by Keith Hawkins, Jan 4, 2017.

1. Keith Hawkins

Keith Hawkins Active Member

So I am new to camping with the PUP as of 2 summers ago. Before that it was always tenting and backpacking where we would pack light. I have 1x10" cast iron skillet which I cook bacon in for the kids and then a few non stick and regular old pots and pans.

Why is everyone so into Cast Iron over everyday cook wear? What are the advantages and disadvantages in general?

2. Halford

Halford Well-Known Member

Advantages:
    adding iron as vitamin
    flavorful cooking
    ease of cooking

Disavantages:
    heavy
    some parts of food get stuck on pan
    takes time to maintain (clean n oiling)

I still use it... makes me feel like camping more.

3. JustRelax

JustRelax Well-Known Member

I use mine mostly in the fall as we are too active during the summer, but cooking a meal over the fire in CI can be an activity in itself. There's just something about it that makes food better when having a bourbon with a cigar stirring a meal in CI over the fire. It's an experience in itself.

4. michaeltdyer

michaeltdyer Member

Cast Iron tends to dissipate the heat better than lighter pans so if you are cooking over an uneven heat source, the pan tends to compensate for that and you get an more evenly cooked dish. With thin cookware, you can get hot spots on the bottom of the pan. This is why Cast Iron is the cookware of choice for cooking over a campfire.

5. sea-piner

sea-piner Member