Solar advice please.

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by scootit, Oct 25, 2016.

1. scootit

scootit New Member

We have a new to us travel trailer. Right now we have these batteries and plug. I am looking at buying the renogy 100 watts 12 volts monocrystalline solar starter kit with 30a pwm wanderer from amazon for $196.99. I will also update my batteries to deep cell marine 31 or 2 6 volt golf cart batteries depending on size of the space. Is this the correct set up? What am I missing? The past owner said just buy a panal and plug it in. I am learning that it is a bit more than just plug them in. Any advice will be great. I am new to all of this. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. speckhunter80

speckhunter80 Well-Known Member

I would not recommend you buy any solar components until you do an energy audit of your needs. It is quite possible that simply upgrading to a group 31 deep cycle battery will provide you with all the energy you need for the time period you are camping.

3. sea-piner

sea-piner Member

I state anytime, anything about electric anything is posted, I am not an expert or even close, but I am like to type and will always give my opinion when asked... :)

I agree with above, that there are lots to consider b4 going solar, but I will make the assumption that where, when, and how long you plan on being in your PUP has taken you down the path that you'll need an external power source and the cost and/or noise of a generator isn't something you want.

I use an 85 W panel with charge control from home depot. My deep cycles 12V battery will be charged by 2pm all year round the next day. We use all LED lighting. Heater may run 10-15 minutes per night and the girls take sink baths. We don't have an inverter. We play until the sun goes down and hang out by the fire until bedtime. We live in california, where it rarely rains or has overcast skies.

thats my two cents/experience.

Maycat likes this.
  4. dion

dion Member