Solar or not?

Discussion in 'A-Frame PopUps' started by Jan Cristo, Jul 14, 2019.

1. Jan Cristo

Jan Cristo New Member

I'm a female newbie with a used Aliner Scout. I'm planning a trip from Florida to New Mexico in the fall and expect to be doing a lot of boondocking along the way, so goodbye to those wonderful water and electrical hookups. l'd like to be sure that I can use my phone and computer at all times, won't be using a tv or the refrigerator though. I'd like to have something simple that doesn't need fixed solar panels or electrical wiring. I know very little about it but have heard of suitcase kits (?) and Goal Zero Yeti Power Stations. Can anyone please give me an idea of what the very simplest (not necessarily the cheapest) way I should go? I am currently using two batteries and have not run out of juice yet - but then, I haven't camped much without electricity. Just need to keep it very simple cause I'm not a techno kind of girl!

2. SteveP

SteveP Well-Known Member

A lot will depend on your schedule. If you're planning a lot of one nighters it may not be worth dealing with setting up a solar panel every evening. I'd recommend that you try to get a site with hookups once every 4 or five nights so that you can get a full charge on your batteries. If you're planning longer stays, where you can leave the solar panels out all day you'll get better results.

3. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

Problem about the goal zero is you can't charge your camper batteries with it. It's essentially a fancy battery pack for your extra devises. However I believe you can attach your solar panel to the goal zero to charge that separately.