Stupid question - how/where do I plug AC in? Outlets don't match prongs.

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by kellykola, May 25, 2011.

  1. kellykola

    kellykola New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Hello helpful friends! I'm new to this and learning...slowly. We have a new to us 1998 Coleman by Fleetwood SunRidge Grand Tour Elite camper with a roof top ac. The AC cord end is 3 prong one of the prongs is sideways at the top. There isn't a plug that I have found in my camper that it will plug into. How or where do I plug that in??
     
  2. KathyB

    KathyB New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Take a peek underneath the dinette - that's where ours is. They would have made one receptacle just for your A/C unit and it will be somewhere that your A/C cord will JUST BARELY reach (again, in our case at least). [:D]
     
  3. EV2

    EV2 Member

    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Thatbis a 20 amp plug. On yours I would bet it is on the wall under the dinette table.
     
  4. kellykola

    kellykola New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    There isn't anything under the dinette. Just a regular GFI outlet. Under the dinette would make a lot of sense - wish it was there. Can you get an adapter for a regular extension cord and run it off that?
     
    Jeff K likes this.
  5. rabird

    rabird Howdy!

    Messages:
    6,695
    Likes Received:
    299
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    TX
    Keep looking for the 20 amp outlet.

    If you can't find it, look on the back of the 'power center' and follow one of the wires to the outlet.

    You've got one if your power center has a 20A breaker.

    My Coachmen's under the dinette seat with the water tank!


    Look on the front or back wall like these 2000 coleman's
    [​IMG]
     
  6. EV2

    EV2 Member

    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Look closely. If your outlets are brown, you may be missing it as it appears very similar to a standard outlet and a standard plug can be inserted. Here is a white one showing the appearance.

    20 amp outlet
     
  7. hoodlum

    hoodlum New Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    The 20 amp receptacle will look very much like a regular plug....You can plug in one that looks like the standard l l plug or one that looks like the ac...-- l....
    ' '

    The holes in the receptacle will actually look like -l l......Hope this helps....
    '
    Hoodlum
     
  8. EV2

    EV2 Member

    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    I looks like the photo that is posted above.
     
  9. mschepac

    mschepac South Jersey

    Messages:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I have a '98 Coleman Grandview SP and there are actually 2 in mine. One is on the front side wall by the bunk. The other is right next to the converter.
    You can just about see it in this picture in the lower right....
    [​IMG]
    Hope it helps, good luck!
    ms
     
  10. armyguy

    armyguy US [USA]

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Asheville NC
    Could it be possible that the AC was added later, and it is a stand alone to the power pole outside, and there is not a 20 amp receptacle in the PU? He would then need an extension cord to the power pole, not an expert here but just a thought.
     
  11. David in MI

    David in MI New Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    I'm with ev and hood. Look again at that GFI I bet it's a 20a.
     
  12. Deskpilot

    Deskpilot Member

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Look at the from of the Converter pnl. you should have 2 A/C (Alternating Current) fuses, 1 15A, and one 20A. If so, you have a dedicated circuit for the AC. Follow the heftier wires out of the Converter, they will lead to the correct outlet for the AC Unit.
    if you go the adapter route inside the PUP, you risk overloading the 15A side of the system and you'll be without power.
     
  13. frankvanw1

    frankvanw1 London, Ontario, Canada

    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    It should look something like this (although brown in colour): 20 amp elec. rec.
    Good Luck and Happpy Camping.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.