Suggestions for a generator?

Discussion in 'General Camping Discussion Forum' started by Rachel LeCureux, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Rachel LeCureux

Rachel LeCureux New Member

Hi all!
    I'm fairly new to this, and I'm needing a little help with ideas on hauling a generator around.
    I try to do research on my own and I'm usually pretty good at problem solving unless A) it isn't my area of expertise or B) I've hit a wall and both of those factors are the case here right now!
    I thought I had made a decision, went to Harbor Freight and I picked up the Predator 4000w for $289 (I had a coupon) because it wasn't much louder than the inverter generator they has, and was less than half the price! Then I grabbed a steel hitch mounted cargo rack that comes apart in the middle, and was intending to have a friend weld it onto the tongue, one side to hold the generator, and the other to hold a metal storage box of some type, the likes of which you might find on an ATV. I measured the floor model to make sure it fit inside perfectly. It sure did. Yesterday I went and picked up my trailer, not feeling well BTW (I have a chronic illness) and drove it about 40 minutes down the mountain to my friends house to have him do this welding work for me. He gets everything ready to do the welding, and I say "Hey let's take the generator out and be certain it fits, before we do all this". He rolls his eyes but complies. What do ya know...its about FOUR INCHES LARGER in diameter than the floor model and comes nowhere near fitting inside.
    So we put everything back in my car, and I get to thinking I just don't like the placement of the generator there anyway. I mean, I was gonna build a silencer box for it, but having it right under the bunk is not only loud but seems dangerous to me.