Sway Bar Necessary?

lynnmarie0123

Jun 19, 2020
Hi

thanks to all who answered my newbie questions so far.

My next one is : dealer is recommending i get a Sway Bar. That means a whole new hitch AND BALL too. Im towing with a hyundai santa fe SUV. pup WEIGHS 1450 dry - my SUV RATED for 2000 pounds.
Im new to this - have never towed a camper.
Should i pay the extra $300 for this sway bar?
Im scared about braking while going downhill and pup going faster than the SUV.

LOGICALLY my brain says it shouldnt swing or jackknife. But in my mind i can see it happening.

thanks for any input.

lynn

jmkay1

2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah
Oct 10, 2013
Northern Virginia
It doesn't hurt to have one, but no you shouldn't have too many problems assuming you pack appropriately and keep weight on your tongue. I will say, not to scare you, but I had it happen to me, where
I had tunnel effect wind hit my popup just right and caused it to sway. Going any speed with an out of control camper can sure wake you up. Thankfully with the help of a big rig driver who used his rig to stop the wind and me EVER so slightly applying breaks got everything in control. It did make me wish I had a sway bar to help. It may not have stopped it from happening but it could have helped getting things under control quicker.

Sjm9911

Super Active Member
May 31, 2018
Nj
I think there needed. And cheap insurance. You can add it yourself for a bit less. You need the small ball, and the bar. And a plate to put the ball on the old hitch. I had trucks pass me and suck in the camper. Not fun. This was with the pup on a highway. Lots of traffic and bridges to get to where i need to go. Hell, my tv by itself gets pushed by the wind sometimes on a bridge by my house.

xxxapache

Super Active Member
Jul 30, 2008
I have never used a sway bar on lighter trailers, but it can't hurt. I wouldn't pay $300 for one, though. $50 or 60 bucks will get you one. Welding in the tab shouldn't be more than $20.

Last edited: