TD/TT vs. Popup. Who has experience with both?

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by aws140, Feb 19, 2013.

1. aws140

aws140 New Member

I have been doing a lot of research trying to determine what is the best route for me to go. Me being me, I would normally continue to lurk around and do my research, but due to needing to expedite the process I am turning to the expertise of you guys and gals!

There is a thread in the "Let me tell you about my trip" section giving about my plans, but I guess I better list it here as well. Long story short, I am planning to drive from Atlanta, GA to Fairbanks, AK this Summer. For more details, see my other thread: http://www.popupportal.com/index.php?topic=67809.msg601266;boardseen#new

My biggest obstacle at this time is trying to determine the best route to go for a camper. I have zero experience with campers. I generally just use my tent or hammock(when I don't have the dogs). Since this will be for a longer time frame, and I may need a place for the doggies to hangout for a short time, I have been researching TD/TT and popups, and they seem to be the best route. I just see the pros and cons of both and can't decide which would better suit my needs. I don't want to spend a lot of time in the camper, but if it's raining like crazy I want to be able to cook. Other than that, I am rather minimalist and easy to please.

Here's some preliminary information.

TV:

1997 Toyota Rav4 AWD
    - Will be installing trans cooler and maybe PS cooler(if I deem it necessary)

Objectives for camper:

- Make the drive from GA to AK
    - Be used on the weekends for local short trips to skydive so the doggies can hangout while I jump

Characteristics I want in camper:

- Be as light as possible. I'd prefer sub 1,000 lbs, or close to it.
    - Trailer brakes are a must
    - If I could fit it with the same size tires as my Rav4 uses that would be ideal(I understand the limitations of this)

How I currently stand:

POPUP