Telescopic posts won't go up after coils replaced

Discussion in 'Lift Systems' started by kreckley, Oct 7, 2021.

1. kreckley

kreckley New Member

Hi. I hope help is out there.

I've been working on my 1995 Jayco Eagle 8 popup for months now, and I am frazzled. I've owned the popup since 1996. I've never worked on it myself before and never had mechanical problems before. This summer, the roof would not align with the base of the camper causing the posts to lean to the back of the popup (or vice versa) and the canvas for the bunks to be out of alignment. As a result, I could no longer get the posts in above the beds.

During my hunt for a repair person, I explained that there was a clunk in one corner when I pulled on a cable. He believed the clunk was the result of a damaged coil when I failed to unlatch that corner before attempting to raise the roof. After hearing the cost of repair, I decided to tackle the issue myself. I replaced that coil, but I still had the same issue with the beds. I adjusted the cables at the eyebolts too many times to count and I replaced 3 of the eyebolts with longer ones. Nothing has worked. I decided that, because of the age of the popup, I would replace the other three coils and the cables if I still had a problem.

While working on the second coil on the same side as the first, I had some questions and pulled out the post and the first coil to see how it went back together. I don't know if taking out two coils on the same side of the popup caused my current problems, but I seem to have a mess. Neither post will lift now, and I am unable to reattach them to the roof.