the Cat says yes to RVs

Discussion in 'Camping with Kids/Pets' started by Toedtoes, Jun 22, 2019.

1. Toedtoes

Toedtoes Well-Known Member

The past couple weeks, Cat has been getting used to his harnesses. He prefers the skinny versions so we retired retired grey one.

He has been joining us in the trailer the past couple weeks when I work in it. The dogs join us.

Today he made his first visit to the clipper. He says this is good! He is quite content to hang out in either camper.

The next step is to get him used to car travel.
    IMG_20190608_125554.jpg IMG_20190622_175258.jpg

2. bheff

bheff Well-Known Member

That is awesome. We debated taking our new kitten with us, but 14 hours in a.car poses a few problems I wasnt ready to deal with. But maybe next time.

Toedtoes likes this.
  3. Toedtoes

Yeah, I'm trying to do this slowly so he has time to get used to it. Spending time in the campers in the driveway. We'll do some driveway overnights in the next couple weeks too.

After I posted, I took him and the dogs in the suv to grab some dinner at the nearby Mexican drive through. Cat did very good. No carrier, just the harness and leash. He wandered around the suv for a bit, but then settled up front. He was calmer looking out the windows (some cats don't like that). Once we got back in the driveway, I just cuddled him for few minutes. That helped him relax.

I'll keep doing short drives like this for a while so he can adjust.

He is a very easy going cat. That makes a huge difference. If he does get startled, it doesn't last for more than a couple minutes.

I hadn't intended on getting a cat at this point since I plan on doing a bunch of road trips. But he declared he lives here. The dogs and parrot go camping so he'd be left alone for a week or more if he stayed home. So he has to be a camping cat.

4. Sjm9911

Sjm9911 Well-Known Member