Thought I would share...

Discussion in 'Campground Etiquette' started by fb5, Dec 27, 2013.

1. fb5

fb5 New Member

While this isn't a PUP story, it is a campground story and I would like to vent it out a little and see what you all think...

I was camping at Joe Wheeler SP in Alabama in the primitive campsite section, which is separate from the developed campground by about 50 yards down a dirt trail. It is 2-3 acres and has about 50 sites each consisting of a level grass spot, a rock campfire ring, a trashcan, and a picnic table. When I arrived at about 2pm on Friday and the entire primitive campground was empty, and you pick any spot you choose.

I set up my tent in the far back corner in the most private and secluded site in the campground. I am a writer and some nights I like to write late with a light, etc. and try and stay away from campers when possible to avoid waking them up. Well at about 5pm I went on a hike for an hour or so. When I came back the entire campground was completely empty except for a single tent mansion planted in the spot next to mine about 15 feet away. It was a family--man, woman, two young children. I was irritated and thought it rude, since it was apparent (to me anyways) that I chose the secluded spot for a reason. I didn't say anything though, I prefer to avoid any confrontation. I just packed up my chair and cooler, loaded the tent on top of the truck (still popped up), and drove it over to a site on the opposite side of the campground. The man came over a few minutes later and apologized and said they weren't trying to crowd me. I said it was fine, no harm no foul, and that was that.

It wasn't a huge deal, but I just have to wonder what they were thinking. Do people really want to camp on top of each other when they don't have to? I can understand like 5 spots over or something, but why right next to me out of 50 spots?

Anyways, that's the story. Thanks for listening.

2. silvermickey2002

silvermickey2002 Morris County, NJ