Torn between a "regular" POp up and an A-Frame

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by Grakken, Jul 20, 2015.

1. Grakken

Grakken Member

Hello Everyone! [:D] There is a wall of text below so I apologize in advanced. [:(O]

I went to my local dealer (Here in San Diego, I think I am pretty limited on how many RV places even carry pup's out here) with the intention of really eyeballing the Rockwood Premier 2514G...and we did...and we liked it even better than the pictures online. The no A/C part was a bummer but it can be added after the fact he said. We really like that there is no bathroom/shower inside. We arent considering models with a bathroom/shower inside. With that being said, he showed us a Rockwood A122S too and we really like that layout as well! I like both a lot for different reasons and since I have no experience in any kind of camper (I have been a tent guy my whole life), i am not even sure the features that I like, are even important or germane to my decision. So I have some questions I am hoping to get answered or commented on. Of course your opinions will make a difference as most of you I'm sure have forgotten more info about this than i know right now (ive tried to read everything I can get my hands on).

Typically when we camp, we aren't hanging out inside our tent, we are outside on the tables, under the easy up or out and about doing things.This is why I am not entirely sure if I will miss the space of the 2514G, since, i'm not entirely sure we will be hanging out in there a lot (I don't know what I don't know [:D]). What are your experiences?

oh, my TV is a 2015 Toyota Highlander XLE (5000 lbs rating)- I think that is plenty for either option.

2514G pros to me are:
    1. Space- there is more space inside than I originally thought and it felt roomy.
    2. Having 3 beds is nice as we can then bring other people and they can sleep with us. No need to get a second camping spot for the tent folks.
    3. ?

2514G cons to me: