Towing with vehicle with a 1,500 lb tow capacity

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by GlamperGal, Nov 5, 2015.

1. GlamperGal

GlamperGal New Member

Just joined and am trying to get more information about those that tow PUPs with SUVS that have 1,500 towing capacity. My 2014 Subaru Forester Touring came with towing package installed and has a towing capacity of 1,500. I didn't care much about the hitch at first because we've been tent campers but now I'm hoping to purchase a 1987 Palomino Pony from a friend to renovate and I want to feel confident about towing it. The dry weight of the Pony is 950 lbs and seems to pretty lightweight. I've talked to two Subaru dealerships that say I'll be fine, but then I've read some posts on here that make me second guess that. I'm brand new to towing so maybe I'm just a bit timid.

I'd really like to get some feedback and hear from those of you out there that are towing a similar PUP with similar vehicle to put my mind at ease. Plus any tips are appreciated. I just want to make sure I'm not purchasing something that is going to ruin my Forester. I am in the mountains of NC so there will be some hilly terrain, but nothing too crazy.

2. edh

edh Active Member

The other two issues to consider are tongue weights (pressure on your hitch) and loaded weight (camping gear, water, propane, etc). If that camper weight is correct, it's the dry weight--i.e. the weight before any supplies are added to the camper. Figure on several hundred extra pounds for its loaded weight. Even load (unless you go crazy with supplies, clothes, etc) you should be well below your tow vehicle's limit.

Check your tow vehicle's rating for tongue weight, it's likely 150lbs unless your tow package included a load leveling or heavier duty rear suspension. Your Palomino should be under that (I think my Palomino Colt clocked in around 125lbs).

3. Customer

Customer Well-Known Member