Up-down, Down-up (mostly)?

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by Yukon Jake, Jul 24, 2012.

1. Yukon Jake

Yukon Jake New Member

'94 Coleman Roanoke

I'm not sure whether to ask this in the lift system, bunk ends, leveling, or stabilizing areas, so I figured I'd ask here ('cause I AM a newbie) and some kindly moderator could move it if necessary.

On our last campout, my bride cranked up the roof, the first time she had done it. When I used the shepards’ poles to push the bed bows into position (raising and shaping out the tent roof), it seemed much easier than usual (there’s usually a little tension there, with the bed bows having to be gently “convinced” to go all the way to the seam in the canvas). But, when I was installing the door, it wouldn’t quite fit. This is when I discovered that my bride hadn’t raised the roof quite all of the way; it was about a quarter inch too shy of all the way up. I think that this shortage on my bride’s part is what made the bed bows go up so easily.

So, my question is, would I be doing any damage to the lifters or the frame if I did the pop up in that order from now on, giving myself that 1/4-inch of slack in the roof until after the bed bows are up? I ask that knowing Up-down / Down-up, that the roof needs to go up before the stabilizers go down and vice versa, But is that last quarter inch or so of roof uppliness enough to have caused any damage or to cause any damage in the future?

What do you pros think?

2. madfireball

madfireball New Member

Not unless you can get the safety bars in place. You sure don't want to be in there if the top comes down. I would not take the risk.

3. Yukon Jake

Yukon Jake New Member

What are safety bars? Something to hold the roof up? I have none.

4. friartuck

friartuck Well-Known Member