What does an outside battery feed inside a new trailer if off-grid?

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by geogol, Feb 18, 2018.

Tags:
  1. geogol

geogol New Member

Hi All,
    After reading my manual for the trailer and spending 3 hours reading this forum I am still confused.
    if I am off-grid but my outside battery is fully charged, will it provide electricity to outlets inside trailer? to fridge? and to heated mattersses and to fridge? I understand once i am on grid my battery is charged if hooked up to converter? I undestand I would need to upgradeit to 31 and buy a solar panel. Do I need inverter installed inside for the appliancers or converter will do the job and it is all prewired inside. I have Viking 2107 of 2013. Sorry I am a beginner and have my learning curve.
    thanks for your help

Thank you!

2. jnc

jnc Welcome from New Hampshire

Ot will not power the household outlets. It will power the Fridge, Furnace, Lights, o2 detectors. I have no knowledge of the heater mattress but my guess is it will.

3. BikeNFish

BikeNFish Well-Known Member

The battery supplies power to a fridge, lights, furnace, vent fan, water pump, propane detector, electric brakes and an electric lift system. The fridge, fan and furnace will drain the battery in a hurry and is not recommended to use it on a full time use for these.

My heated mattresses plug into the electrical outlets so, no, they do not use the battery power.

No need to apologize for being a "beginner". I have camped all my life and I am still learning, especially since I joined Popup Portal. The Portal is a great place to learn for beginners and experts.

Last edited: Feb 18, 2018
    Strawhouse likes this.
  4. gardenbliss

gardenbliss Well-Known Member