Wiring Standards

Discussion in 'Wiring' started by AlexVanEks, Aug 20, 2019.

1. AlexVanEks

AlexVanEks Member

Okay so I'm new to this whole pup thing and my old girl Belle is from 1986. Many campgrounds up here have limits on age of your campers, and I want to tell them where to put that :)

What I'm planning to do is a complete rewiring of my pup to add a dedicated circuit for AC and one for 'everything else' - which entails led lighting and maybe charging phone or running fans. I'm planning to replace the incandescent fixtures with new LED inside and out, as well as add new GFCI outlets on the interior for safety.

What I don't know is what the current standards are in RVs for wiring. I'm not sure what to look for, so here I am. I want to be up to code (my uncle is a licensed residential electrician and an electrical engineer, so I have help ) and be both functional and safe. If I'm going to take the time to do this, I'm doing it right so I don't have to do it again.

Any direction is appreciated

2. roybraddy

roybraddy Well-Known Member

Here is a typical wiring setup for a 30A system for the 120VAC and 12VDC distribution panels...

[​IMG]

The typical 30A Wiring configuration for the 120VAC and 112VDC Distribution panels...
    [​IMG]
    Google images...

A good reading place on-line for RV wiring is NOSHOCKZONE.org... Using family Wiring Professionals has one drawback whereas if they wire it up wrong and burn up a bunch of high dollar components guess who pays for it. using the RV Places has Insurance to cover mistakes...

Just saying haha...

Roy Ken
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  3. AlexVanEks

AlexVanEks Member

Thanks for the diagrams! They make zero sense to me but I'm sure my uncle will know lol. I figure if he can wire a house/garage/hot tub/pool/etc he can assist me wiring a camper.