You guys/gals have inspired me to redecorate...

Discussion in 'Cushion, Curtains, Carpets, Bedding, Clothing Stor' started by bgbluram, Jul 23, 2016.

1. bgbluram

bgbluram New Member

So I am new to PUPS, but I am having so much fun messing with this thing. It is a Coleman Shenandoah, and it was all original, down to the floral curtain tie backs and green curtains/striped cushions. Well after watching a few youtube videos and reading a bunch of threads on this forum, I decided to redecorate.

My pup didn't come with a port-a-potty, so I ordered one and will be building a custom cabinet to house it. I ordered the Camco model 41541 after reading many reviews.

I also ordered some peel-and-stick vinyl wood plank flooring. It's going to look awesome!

I have already recovered the cushions and I am really happy with how they turned out. I also purchased some throw pillows for comfort since the PUP didn't come with any.

Next on the list is to tackle a couple of privacy curtains for the bunks. Here's where I run into a little issue. I thought I could just purchase a simple shower curtain rod and cut and hem a black out curtain and be done, however, the longest shower curtain rod I can find only extends to 72" and my PUP is about 75" wide at the top of the bunks. So what's the solution? Use a wooden dowel? PVC? How do you guys/gals do it? My PUP doesn't have the rail for the curtains like I have seen on a few other models.

Any suggestions or comments are welcomed! I will be adding pictures soon!

2. MabelJ

MabelJ Member

One suggestion that came from Singinmom is to use bamboo poles.
    They so come in 8 foot lengths - just cut to size.

I will use 1/2" bamboo for my valances because they have tabs, the pole will be visible.
    I will use aircraft cable (dollar store "clothes line") for the privacy curtains that will be hidden under valance. Some have used bungee/shock cord.

Note that grommeted or rod pocket curtains probably will not slide nicely over bamboo.